//
you're reading...
Workouts

I heart cross training

Hello!  Happy Tuesday!

I had an early session at the gym this morning and put my client through a super sweaty, full-body workout. It was her last day training with me and I wanted to make sure it was memorable!  Tuesdays and Thursdays are cross-training days for me according to my Chicago Marathon training schedule.  Now that I’m more focused on running, I really look forward to these days when I get to mix things up and focus on strength!  Before marathon training I was very heavy into Nike Training Club workouts and writing similar ones of my own that mix things up with cardio, strength, endurance, and flexibility.

 securedownload

Before starting my workout I ran one mile on the treadmill to warm up and then attempted the 12 Mintute Athlete’s 100 burpee challenge.  Check out her page for details and other great HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workouts: 12minuteathlete.com  Basically, the first Friday of each month (I was behind this month, waiting for my cross-training day and for my knee to be feeling good) you do 100 burpees as fast as you possibly can and post your time on the page.  So today I set up in a corner of the gym that is seldom used, set my timer, and got to work.  Around burpee #30 I was slowly becoming surrounding by a group of elderly women in matching t-shirts hauling mats and other equipment.  By burpee #42 I was completely squeezed out and asked to move.  Needless to say, the workout was cut short and there’s no way I was starting over.  Maybe I’ll try again Thursday.

After my 100 Burpee Challenge attempt I completed the following 3 circuits:

 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

I grabbed a drink when needed, but for the most part went all the way through as quick as I could, keeping the pace up the whole time.  Below are some videos of a few of the exercises you may not be familiar with.  If you have any questions, please feel free to ask!  And be sure to check with a doctor before making any fitness changes and honor your body and go at your own pace!  Do fewer reps, us lighter weights, rest as you need to.  Challenge yourself, but be safe!

Hope you’re all having a great week so far!  I’m headed back to my hometown tomorrow for some fun festivities that I will fill you in on later!

Single leg deadlift reverse fly:

Plank with cross rotation:

Drop squat jumps:

Clock squats:

Plank walks:

Froggers:

Supermans:

Toe touches:

Hip raises:

Russian twists:

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
