//
you're reading...
Marriage

Weekend Recap

Hello friends!  I hope you had a fabulous weekend like I did!

As you know, I spent the weekend at my parents’ house with my bro and his family.  My hubby and the boys got into town Friday night and it was a very full house!  Six adults and seven kids to be exact!  It was the kind of chaos that my sister-in-law really thrives in, that amuses me, and that my better half tolerates with the help of a few beers and the distraction of sports (World Cup this week!).  Here’s a little recap of how it all went down!

We left off on Thursday and my grand plans for a cross-training workout.  Well….that didn’t happen.  But a very good friend of mine and my brother swung by, April!  I hadn’t seen her in a looooong time (years maybe!) and it was so nice to catch up!  My parents are both retired now, so it was also nice to spend some time with them.

 

Papa with his girls: RoRo and ReRe

Papa with his girls: RoRo and ReRe

Umm...you're doing it wrong...

Umm…you’re doing it wrong…

 

On Friday I did get in a short, easy run.  There’s a nice man-made lake near where my parents live that has a nice paved path all the way around it-almost 2 miles around.  My mom and I took my daughter and my two nephews.  The boys rode there bikes around with me.  It was only mildly successful as the gnats were awful and I had to stop about 4 times to put my nephew back on his bike.  I’m just glad I was able to squeeze something in!  After that I put the baby down for a nap, showered quick, and my mom and I headed out for party errands.  I spent the rest of the afternoon/evening cooking dinner and making food for the party.  For dinner I introduced my parents to quinoa and made Brussels sprouts as well!  It actually went over pretty well!  Below are links to what I cooked, for both dinner and the party on Saturday:

Friday Dinner:

Crockpot Balsamic Chicken: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/66991113181720980/

Creamy Parmesan Garlic Quinoa: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/66991113182440742/

Roasted Brussels Sprouts: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/66991113182434314/

Party Food:

Quinoa Mexi-Lime Salad: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/66991113182172997/

Apple and Poppy Seed Coleslaw: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/66991113181629617/

Radish Salad: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/66991113181567835/

Buffalo Chicken Dip: http://iowagirleats.com/tag/buffalo-chicken-dip/

As you can see, I get a lot of great recipes from Iowa Girl Eats–my favorite blog!!

Saturday was the big day!  I naively put on my running clothes in the morning, in hopes of sneaking out for a run, but that definitely didn’t happen.  I spent the morning doing more cooking and party prep.  In addition to the dishes I made we also had pulled pork sandwiches, potato salad, turkey roll ups from Costco–so good!, fruit, a veggie tray, cake, and brownies.  My sister-in-law is super crafty (check out her Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheeClosetCrafter) and made these adorable banners and decorated the house with flowers and some of our “wedding photos.”  When first planning this celebration she had asked me if there was a particular theme…I said “nuptial kegger.”  She really took my vision and classed it up 🙂

mr and mrs banner

the howells banner

Unfortunately, I don’t have more photos from the party as of now, as they are all on my mom’s camera.  We had a really fabulous time and loved celebrating with all of our friends and family, from near and far.  I was able to see some friends that I haven’t seen in a very long time and catch up with people I dearly love but don’t often get to see.  The weather was gorgeous and the party was a huge success.  I’m very glad we decided to celebrate our marriage in this way and am very thankful to my mom and sister-in-law for making it happen!

I’ll be back later to talk about my workout plans for the week!  It’s time to get back on track with healthy eating and buckle down on the marathon training!

Hope your Monday is off to a great start!!

How was your weekend?  How are you kicking off the week?

Discussion

One thought on “Weekend Recap

  1. I love the photo of your dad and his granddaughters! So cute! The party decor looks amazing – I can’t wait to see more pictures! I didn’t know your sister-in-law had an Etsy shop. I’ll have to check it out! I’m so happy that your celebration was so fab! Wish I could have been there!!

    Posted by Brittney McNutt | June 17, 2014, 8:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
