//
you're reading...
circuit, cross training, Running, Runs

Fitness Favorites-Apps

USA!  USA!  USA!  Woohoo!!!  Did anyone else watch the game??  I know it was a loss…but we’re moving to the next round!  I know Germany probably wasn’t playing full speed, but at least our guys played tough and did what they needed to do to advance.  I think this quote from ESPN’s Adam Schefter sums it up nicely:

AS soccer quote

Since we last chatted I’ve completed a couple good workouts.  Yesterday I wasn’t able to fit my workout in until after 5pm, which is unusual for me.  Normally, by that time of day, I would give up on trying to fit something in and would just look forward to the next day.  But, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m trying really hard to stick to my marathon training schedule so I can stay healthy and fit and get to the starting line in Chicago feeling good!  So last night, after quickly making dinner for the kids, I completed this workout on the treadmill at home:

15 minute warm up at 6.2 mph pace

1 minute at 8 mph pace

2 minutes at  7 mph pace

(repeated for 25 minutes)

10 minute cool down at 6.5 mph pace

I ended up with about 5.7 miles in 50 minutes.  It felt good and I’m proud that I was able to get it done.  I followed my run with some very ugly tennis playing…but it was fun!

Today I had cross training on the schedule and completed one mile on the treadmill followed by two 15 minute Nike Training Club workouts…which brings me to the title of this post!  Over the next few days I will be sharing some of my Fitness Favorites!  Things I use and love often and that have helped me along my fitness journey, to stay active, engaged, motivated, accountable and feeling fantastic!  Today will focus on apps!  Portable fitness!

Apps:

Nike Training Club: I LOVE LOVE LOVE this.  As a runner, I felt I was in shape and healthy, but moving to a routine of more circuit style strength training really helped me to tone and get the shape I was looking for.  Using this app helped me to mix things up and try new things.  I’m always introducing new exercises to my training clients that I discover using this app.  I love that you can choose Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced workouts and that they offer an option of doing a 4 week program to help you reach your goals.  Bonus: the app is FREE.

12 Minute Athlete: My husband first introduced me to this website and I recently purchased the app.  These High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) workouts really helped kick my butt into gear after giving birth.  Combining these workouts with regular running helped my body to bounce back and be stronger and leaner than ever before.  I really love the options the app offers, including letting you choose your workout based on what equipment you have available (bodyweight only workouts are an option–no excuses!).  Also, I use the interval timer on this app all the time!  I used to use a Gym Boss timer, but didn’t find it super user friendly.  This is easy to use and gives me little positive reinforcement every time I finish a round!

My Fitness Pal: When I first began my weight loss journey I joined Weight Watchers online.  I loved the accountability and the way it made me look at not just how much I was eating, but what kinds of calories I was eating.  What I didn’t love was paying for it.  My Fitness Pal is free and I love that it gives me all the perks of nutrition tracking and allows me to interact with friends.  I can change the ratio of macros to suit my needs and save/edit recipes easily.  Win.  I also like that I can link this app to my Jawbone UP app…more on the Jawbone next time!

Rock My Run: I recently discovered this app when a friend put out a request on Facebook for good running tunes.  Someone mentioned this app so I thought I would check it out.  There are a lot of free mixes to choose from, but you can also upgrade to have more options.  You can choose your DJ mixes based on genre, beats per minute and duration.  So far I’ve been really pleased.  It’s nice to mix things up and have something continuously playing, without breaks between songs or commercials.

Do you use any of these apps?  What are some of your favorites?

Have a great day!!

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Fitness Favorites-Apps

  1. Fine way of explaining, and fastidious post to obtain facts regarding my presentation topic,
    which i am going to convey in college.

    Posted by Luz | June 29, 2014, 5:14 pm
  2. I’m checking out Fitness Pal right NOW. Last year I was using Weight Watchers online as well and it really helped me stay accountable, but I cancelled it when I made my budget. So, I’m excited to hear about Fitness Pal! Thanks girl!

    Posted by Brittney McNutt | July 2, 2014, 6:31 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: More Fitness Favorites! | Dusty's Sister - July 2, 2014

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
