//
you're reading...
circuit, cross training, Family, Running, Runs, Workouts

Saturday Catch Up

Hello!!  It’s been a while!  How are you?

I hope you had a super awesome 4th of July and are enjoying the long weekend!  It’s been a while since we chatted, so there’s a lot to catch up on!  Let’s go!

First, did you watch the USA World Cup game Tuesday?  RoRo and I went to a friend’s house to watch it and we were on the edge of our seats!  Such a heartbreaking loss, but inspiring effort!  Tim Howard…there are no words…but there are hilarious memes!  Twitter was filled with creative memes showing things Tim Howard could save…Mufasa in The Lion King was my favorite 🙂

Tuesday was a cross training day for me and I completed a Nike Training Club 45 minute workout.  It was hard!  The move “Frogger to Overhead Press” was new to me…and wow!  Staying down in squat position while doing an overhead press is killer!  In a really awesome way!

I made a last minute decision to go to Cedar Rapids (my hometown) this week and run a race on the 4th, so Rossi and I left at nap time on Wednesday.  I worked at the gym in the morning and didn’t have time to fit in my workout before we left…so it never happened.  Since I knew I would be racing on Friday I was okay with that.

rossi yogurt face grandma and rossi

Wednesday night I went to a coffee shop that I had never been to before to hang with my friend Molly while she screen printed t-shirts to promote a flea market she is putting on next weekend.  Don’t I have cool friends??  If you’re in the Cedar Rapids area check out Revival on the River next Saturday, July 12th, in the NewBo area!  She also gave me a plant as a wedding present.  So sweet!!

revival on the river pretty plant

Thursday I had plans for an early morning workout but didn’t get much sleep the night before, so it was post-poned.  Rossi and I visited my friend’s mom, Chris, and later I had lunch with my friend, Tyler.  It was great catching up!  Finally, at 5pm, I hit the gym with my friend, Rachelle, and had a great workout!  I didn’t want to go super hard, since I was racing in the morning, and Rachelle was just recently cleared to workout after having surgery 6 weeks ago.  We completed a one mile warm-up on the treadmill, then did this circuit (link below).  Short, sweet, sweaty, and effective!  We followed that with a 15 minute yoga workout from Nike Training Club and a brief cool down on the treadmill.  It was perfect!

Short and Sweaty Circuit

Friday morning I completed the Fifth Season 8k race in downtown Cedar Rapids.  Race re-cap will be up tomorrow!  It was a beautiful day to run!  I had lunch with Stephanie (and confirmed that she does indeed harvest honey, rather than make it-the credit for that goes all to the bees).  Later, Rossi and I drove home, scooped up the husband, and headed to a 4th of July party.  It was great to spend some time outside, catch up with friends we haven’t seen in a long time, and enjoy the holiday!  We made it until almost 7pm before Rossi started to meltdown.  We came home and put her to bed and then enjoyed some time on the deck.  I was wiped and went to bed at 9pm!  No fireworks for us, but it was still a great day!

race ready race day at the race

How was your holiday?  Any good workouts this week?  Plans for the weekend?

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
