//
you're reading...
circuit, cross training, Running, Runs, Workouts

Mantra Monday

Hey strangers!  It’s been a while!  Sorry I’ve been MIA.  I’ve been doin’ stuff!  That’s a good excuse, right?  Doin’ stuff?  Works for me.

So let’s catch up!!  Here’s a recap of workouts, etc. since my last blog, which was Wednesday of last week, holy cow!

Wednesday: My marathon training schedule called for circuit workout following a pattern of easy running for 2-3 minutes followed by 30 seconds-1 minute strength exercise.  I did a similar workout to the one I did last time I had this on my schedule and it was brutal!  I finished with 4 miles total and lots of good strength work.  I’ll be sure to post the workout on the Workouts page!

Thursday: Rest day!  I had a full schedule with sessions at the gym in the morning so didn’t have time to fit in my workout (my child watch time was all used up for the day!), and I was feeling pretty sore from Tuesday and Wednesday, so I decided to just take a rest day.  Probably a good move.  Chowing down on a massive burrito and enjoying a margarita for dinner?  Maybe not the best move…but it was Rossi’s first time at our local Mexican restaurant, La Bamba, so I wanted to be a good sport.  She had a good time!

Rossi's salsa face

Friday: 45 minutes easy running on the treadmill followed by a 15 minute Nike Training Club workout and 4 rounds for time of: 15 box jumps, 15 push-ups, 25 air squats, 20 sit-ups.  Another great workout!

Saturday: Rest day.

Sunday: 10 mile long run!  Overall I felt pretty good, but by the time we hit 10 miles I was done!  It was feeling hot and humid.  We started at a slower pace running with a couple other people we knew and then picked it up at mile 3 after we split off from them.  I’m happy with this!  Oh, the best part just may have been the massive Mt. Dew slushy I rewarded myself with after the run.  Heaven.

garmin 10 miles mt dew slushie

Since I’ve been doing my long runs on Sundays instead of Saturdays (I usually work Saturday mornings), I’ve decided to finally adjust my training schedule accordingly.  So today will be a rest day and I’ll do my tempo run tomorrow.  I am going to make more of an effort to be active on my rest days though.  I wear a Jawbone UP and my step count is pretty abysmal on days I don’t workout.  I’d like to change that!

This morning I worked at the gym and then Rossi and I hit up a new park!  It was pretty cool, but nothing super awesome, just kind of fun to mix it up.  I’m working at job #2 this evening, but hoping to get in a good walk after that.

MANTRA MONDAY!

I’d like to make this a thing on the blog.  I want us to share our mantras that help get us through long runs, long workouts, or just long weeks!  Please share yours in the comments!

I’ll go first!  When I’m running I like to repeat in my head “tall and strong.”  It helps me to maintain good form and remind myself how strong I can be when I’m feeling weak.  Your turn!

What mantra(s) do you use?

What was your favorite thing you did this weekend?

Discussion

One thought on “Mantra Monday

  1. That picture of Rossi is precious! Kids are just the cutest! I think working with them is the #1 thing I’m looking forward to in graduate school.
    I don’t have any mantras that I tell myself consistently. I often say a mix of “breathe, tempo, relax” a lot because I tend to forget about those three things.

    Posted by Sam @ The Running Graduate | July 15, 2014, 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
