//
you're reading...
cross training, Running, Runs, Workouts

Marathon Training Update

Hey hey!  Happy Tuesday y’all!

How are you?  How’s your week starting off?  Honestly, I’m not sure what happened to Monday.  I feel like I blinked and all of a sudden it’s Tuesday.  Does that happen to you?  I swear at least once a week I’m completely off on what day it is.

So let’s catch up.  I wanted to give an update on how marathon training is going and what I’ve been up to as far as workouts since we last chatted about such things.  Unfortunately, my life isn’t all swanky, informational dinner parties at family farms with local blog celebrities.  Occasionally, I have to go to the gym and work out.  It’s not so bad 😉

Thursday: Unplanned rest day.  I just couldn’t fit in the workout I planned and ended up not doing anything.  I’m okay with that.  I try to get in 6 days/week, but like to give myself the option of an extra rest day before I start to feel guilty or worry about not meeting my goals.

Friday: 1/2 mile repeats.  Whoa.  I knew this would be hard going into it.  I drank some wine and got to bed late the night before, but actually felt good going into it.  It’s just that any workout with “repeats” or “hard” or “threshold” in the description makes me a bit anxious!  Here was the description: Warm-up with EZ 10-15 minutes, followed by Dynamic Warm-up exercises and 3-4 sets of 30 sec. strides/accelerations. Repeat 6 repetitions of 1/2 mile at a hard effort, with a recovery between each hard effort. Your 1/2 mile repeats should be done at approximatiely 10K race pace or “hard” effort 95-100% of threshold heart rate (from your 5K Time Trial). Recover 3-5 minutes between each repeat. Cool down with minimum of 5-10 minutes of easy walk/jog and stretching.  So here’s how I did:

Warm-up: 1 mile easy pace, 1/2 mile w/ 30 second strides followed by 30 seconds easy.

First 3 1/2 mile repeats all at 7:47 pace with .25 mile recovery in between.

Last 3 1/2 mile repeats at 7:41, 7:35, 7:30 pace, .25 mile recovery in between.

Cool down: Just over 1 mile easy.

Total: 6.5 miles, 59:30

For my recovery I would walk for one minute and then run easy for the rest of the .25 mile.  I did this on the treadmill and it was super hot in the gym.  I felt like I was melting after the first 5 minutes.  Overall, I’m really happy with this workout.  I was able to do the last half faster than the first, and during my cool down the pace felt super easy, like I could’ve run a lot longer and farther.  That was definitely a good confidence boost; to know that I could do a hard workout and still have some juice left in the tank.  I’m sure taking Thursday off was helpful.

Saturday: Rest.  I had planned to do an easy run, but I was exhausted.  Friday was another night out and not enough sleep.  I worked 8am-2pm on Saturday and by the time I got home I was spent!

Sunday: 11 mile long run.  This was a good run.  I definitely felt better than I did for last week’s long run.  We did pause for a bit around mile 3 to chat to some ladies doing TRX in the park.  That was kind of cool.  I love talking to people about fitness!  We pushed through after that and finished with 11 miles in about 1:40, close to 9:10/mile pace overall.  I felt strong and the effort was on par with where I want to be.

Monday: Cross-training.  Typically the day after a long run is for rest, but since I missed a couple workouts last week and was feeling good, I decided to do some cross-training.  I completed a one mile warm-up on the treadmill followed by pull-ups and tricep dips, overhead press and weighted lunges with back leg elevated.  I finished by doing 3 rounds of the Hardcore Core Circuit.  Oh, and foam rolling!  I hadn’t done pull-ups in a long time and just wanted to see what I was capable of.  I did 3 sets of 3-4, unassisted.  I am too short for the assisted pull-ups!  This is why I don’t use machines at gyms!  So, yeah….those pull-ups were tough!  I went heavy on the weight for the overhead press and lunges and am totally feeling it today!

I have a hill workout on the schedule today, but I think I will either put it off and rest today, or just run easy on the treadmill.

So far I’ve completed 8 weeks of marathon training and have 11 to go!  I’m hitting my goal paces for the workouts and have successfully completed all of my long runs (outside!).  I’m feeling confident and most importantly, healthy!  I have signed up for the Amana Colonies Back Road Half Marathon on August 9th.  I think that will be a great test of my long distance pace and what I need to work on going forward.  This is the first year for this race, so I have no idea what to expect.  I’m hoping it’s well organized and the course is well-supported.  I would like to practice my fueling and drinking on the run, as well as my pre-race routine.  I don’t expect a lot of spectators at this race, which I know will be drastically different from Chicago.  Hopefully the crowds in Chi-town will just motivate me to run faster and not distract me too much!  Though, I do plan to soak it all in and enjoy the race…just without slowing down 🙂

In other marathon training update news, my team is over half way to our minimum fundraising goal!  You can read more about that here, and if you feel so inclined, can donate here.  Thanks in advance for your support of all kinds: financial, and otherwise!  I love all the encouragement and support I and my family has received.  It all helps!

Are you training for anything right now?  Any races coming up?

What are you looking forward to this week?

Discussion

One thought on “Marathon Training Update

  1. Awesome job! It’s so awesome when hard workouts end up going really well! All of your hard work is really going to pay off in Chicago 🙂
    I have a 12 mile race in Baltimore on August 9th that I’m really looking forward to! After that – a half marathon in September.

    Posted by Sam @ The Running Graduate | July 23, 2014, 4:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
