//
you're reading...
Family, Running, Runs, Workouts

August Challenge

Hi friends!  So….so much for getting back to regular blogging!  To be honest, I just wasn’t feeling it!  I must have been in some kind of funk.  I’m hoping I can get my mojo back and find my groove again.

just do it

Let’s catch up!  First thing’s first, I ran 12 miles on the treadmill today.  The freaking treadmill.  Twelve miles.  And you know what…that’s not the first time I’ve ever done that.  So I guess it wasn’t awful, because I knew it was doable.  And doing as much treadmill running as I do, you learn some tricks to pull you through.  I started out at a 9:50 pace and worked my way down to 8:47.  Overall, about a 9:20 pace.  I took a Gu when I was about half way.  I really need to start practicing my fueling, so that alone was a victory.

12 miles

I was supposed to run with a friend yesterday morning, but that ended up not happening, so RoRo and I hit up the zoo instead.  We had a blast!  We also went to the zoo on Friday with some friends.  Rossi is still just a little young to thoroughly enjoy the zoo and checking out the animals, but she still had fun wandering around.  Every time we left an exhibit to look at a new one she would wave and say “bye” to the animals.  So damn cute.  The giraffes are definitely a favorite for us both.

giraffe

Rossi's "I'm so stoked to be at the zoo, yeah!" face.

Rossi’s “I’m so stoked to be at the zoo, yeah!” face.

AUGUST CHALLENGE!!!

I’m going to visit my BFF in Portland this month and am beyond excited!  What I’m not excited about is putting on a few pounds recently due to decreased strength training sessions and increased ice cream eating sessions.  So, we came up with a challenge so we can both enter vacation mode feeling good and ready to indulge guilt free!  Here’s the challenge:

  • No dessert/treats/candy
  • No alcohol
  • 20+ workouts

I’m heading to Portland on the 28th, so it won’t be a full month, but enough time to see some results and get into some good habits.  We are planning to get in a few workouts during my visit, and I’ll still be on the marathon schedule, so we won’t go too crazy with indulgences. My friend is an incredible baker and cook, so there’s no way I’m going to stay at her house for a week and miss out on that!  We’ll just try to maintain a good balance.  I have no doubts we will be successful!

Apple & peanut butter>cookies & ice cream

Apple & peanut butter>cookies & ice cream

Even though it’s already the 4th, who wants to join?

What goals are you working on right now?

How was your weekend?

Discussion

2 thoughts on “August Challenge

  1. Great goals! You’re going to have such a great trip, and really enjoy it after challenging yourself!
    My goals for this month is just to enjoy life and running before my life gets too crazy with school.

    Posted by Sam @ The Running Graduate | August 5, 2014, 4:00 am

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
