//
you're reading...
Family, Running, Runs

I know…I know…

I totally promised to post, like, weeks ago…I’ve been slacking!  I’m not sure why I haven’t posted lately.  Sure, I’ve been busy, but I could’ve squeezed it in.  I guess I just wasn’t up to it and wanted to spend my free time doing things like playing Scramble on my phone, or dreading speed work, or packing and repacking my suitcase in my mind for my upcoming trip.  You know, important stuff!  I actually haven’t really read many blogs lately either.  I’ve been trying to figure out why that is.  I used to read a few blogs pretty regularly, almost every day, before I stopped working full time.  I guess then it just seemed like “free time” was more clearly defined.  Now, if I have some time where Rossi is napping or hubby is around to help out, I feel like I should be doing other things, like laundry, or dishes, or organizing. There was an obvious beginning and end to my work day, but now my work day seems to be from the time I wake up to when I go to bed.  I really have no one to blame for that but myself!  I allow myself a few games on my phone and time to scroll through Facebook and Instagram, but usually not more than 10 minutes at a time.  Blogging takes longer.  But I do like it and want to be more consistent, so I’m going to try to work that into the “schedule.”

Let’s catch up on a few things!  I leave for Portland on Thursday!!!  I cannot wait!  I’m so freaking excited to see my BFF and relax and have girl time, enjoy the beautiful Oregon scenery, go on a few adventures, indulge in wine, beer and treats!!!

Me and my BFF Caitlin (and Rossi in my tummy)!

Me and my BFF Caitlin (and Rossi in my tummy)!

I’m nervous about being away from Rossi for so long!  And I’ll miss the dudes too!  But I know they’ll all survive without me.  I’m hoping to return recharged and ready to dive into the school year!

The boys started school last week and we’re still getting into the swing of things around here.  Of course it’s a bit of a challenge with the boys spending half the time here and half at their mother’s for everyone to get on the same page and settle into a routine, but we all work together and will get there soon.  September will be a bit hectic as I get into some serious mileage for marathon training, work extra hours at my second job for quarter-end, start teaching Sunday school and the NFL season gets underway–GO BRONCOS!!

DSCN0886

The family that cheers together, stays together! Schnoops!

Busy, but all good things!  And I know life will be a little less crazy after the marathon is over, which is a little less than 8 weeks away!  Yikes!  Speaking of…

Training has been going pretty well!  I’ve been pretty good about sticking to the schedule and being more consistent than I had been prior to the Amana Half Marathon.  I did 16 miles this past Sunday, which is the farthest I’ve ever run!!  I was able to run with a few peeps from the Des Moines Marathon Running Club, and that was super helpful!  I’m hoping to run with them for the rest of my training, since my schedule will change next month.  We took it a bit slower than my usual long run pace, which was just fine since it was crazy hot and humid, even starting at 6am.  We took a few water/bathroom breaks and finished with about a 10 min/mile pace overall.  I had 15 on the schedule, and the others were going for 20, but I settled for 16.  I thought about going further, but I didn’t want to push it, and by 16 I was ready to stop anyway.  Overall, a successful run!  And after I did my first ice bath!

Gnarly toes and freezing cold water!

Gnarly toes and freezing cold water!

I felt pretty good yesterday, so I think the ice bath was definitely helpful.  I plan to do that after my long runs going forward.  Getting in was rough!  But once I was in it really wasn’t so bad.  I enjoyed a cup of hot coffee and caught up on Facebook to pass the time.  Yesterday I was able to hit the gym and do two easy miles on the treadmill followed by a 30 minute Nike Training Club workout.

August Challenge Update: Well….it hasn’t been wildly successful…but maybe mildly successful?  I’ve pretty much stayed away from booze, apart from a post-race beer and my first Moscow mule on date night a few weeks ago.  And after today and tomorrow’s workouts I’ll have hit 20, which I feel good about, considering without the challenge I would’ve ended up with a few more rest days.  The sweets/treats are another story.  I will say this month was better than last month, so in that way it was a success.  But I didn’t achieve the goal of NO sweet/treats for the month.  You know what the killer was?  Papa Murphy’s cinnamon sugar dessert pizza with cream cheese frosting.  Oh. My. God.  Phenomenal.  I could’ve eaten the whole pizza myself.  So there’s that…

I’ve put together a few fun workouts for clients lately that I’ve been meaning to share with you!  I’m hoping to get some posted tomorrow before I head west!

Hope you’re having a fabulous week!  Thanks for stopping by!

Do you crave salty or sweet snacks?

Where did you go for your last vacation?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
