//
you're reading...
circuit, cross training, Running, Runs, Workouts

Broncos Victory Workout

Happy hump day y’all!  How are you?  Are you enjoying this fall-like weather as much as I am??  It has made a huge difference in my long runs recently and is making me more and more excited for Chicago–less than four weeks away!!

Let’s catch up on training!  Last weekend I did 20 miles.  Twenty freaking miles.  2-0.  And you know what…it was awesome!  I felt good!  My pace was good and I even ran a negative split.  I was tired at the end, but felt strong and recovered well.  Hallelujah!

garmin 20 miles ice bath

My work schedule has changed this month, so I’ve been able to join the IMT Des Moines Marathon Running Club for my long runs on Saturday mornings.  I absolutely love this crew.  Being able to run with these peeps helps to my booty out of bed early on Saturdays and makes super long runs seem less intimidating.  Everyone is super friendly and supportive.  It’s so nice to run with other people, and not have to worry about mapping out the run myself.  Plus, water and Gu stops are provided, so it’s a great chance to rehearse for race day.

I’ve been slacking this week and was interrupted by a non-napping cranky baby this week, so I’ve got some make up work to do tonight!  I don’t usually like to workout in the evening, but I have to make it happen today!  I’m hoping to get in some hill repeats and some strength training.  Tomorrow I’ll do some speed work and more strength training, then easy run on Friday and 18 miles Saturday!  After this week I’ll begin to taper for the race.  I can’t believe it’s coming up so soon!  I’m feeling very good about training and getting more excited and slightly less nervous.  Now I’m focusing on the logistics and making sure the only thing I have to worry about on race day is running strong.

awesome butt

In other marathon news, my team is so close to reaching our fundraising goal!  We have less than three weeks left to fundraise!  I’ve been blown away by the kindness and generosity of friends and family, as well as acquaintances.  It’s been remarkable how generous people have been in donating, as well as offering kind words of sympathy, support and motivation.  I can’t wait to run the race and honor everyone that’s supported this journey, and, of course, to make my dad proud!

If you would like to read more about our story, and make a donation, you can do so here.

Anyone else super pumped that football season has started??  I’m a Broncos fan through and through and put together a fun little workout based on their first win of the season (in which they scored 31 points!).  Let me know if you have any questions and post your thoughts in the comments if you give it a try!

Broncos Victory Workout

I’ve got a couple other workouts I want to share with your, so hopefully I’ll get a chance to post again later this week!

Question: Do you prefer to workout alone, or with others?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Chicago Marathon

The Big DayOctober 12th, 2014
The big day is here.

Archives

Follow Dusty's Sister on WordPress.com
